The Philosophy Department will choose the AY 2016–2017 recipient of the Richard H. Severens Scholarship, in the amount of $500.

All UGA honors philosophy majors enrolled for Fall Semester 2016 who are expected to graduate during Spring 2017, Summer 2017, or Fall 2017 are eligible for the scholarship. The scholarship recipient must hold a GPA of at least 3.15 during the scholarship period and must be enrolled during that period (Spring 2017). Interested eligible students should submit appropriate materials in support of candidacy by 5:00 pm, April 3, 2017. These materials include:

  • A current curriculum vitae (resume)
  • A writing sample, such as an essay you have written for a philosophy course, or a description of what you plan to do in your philosophy honors thesis if you are currently enrolled in PHIL 4990H (Honors Thesis). If your philosophy honors thesis is already complete or in draft, then you may use all or part of it as your writing sample. Honors thesis plans will be a criterion in awarding the scholarship.
  • Eligibility statements and materials should be sent to Prof. Yuri Balashov, Awards Committee Chair, Department of Philosophy, Peabody Hall, University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602-1627, or electronically to If sending electronically, please put “Severens Scholarship” in the subject line.

The recipient of the Richard H. Severens Scholarship will be announced by April 28, 2017.